david crowe logo
compositions current projects without borders downloads kudos about contact

without borders
Photo by Jeff Cravotta

Without Borders

The musicians of the eclectic ensemble "Without Borders" first performed together in 2002, playing music composed by David Crowe for the Moving Poets Theater of Dance production of "The Echo," based on the prison writings of Nigerian author and Nobel Laureate Wole Soyinka.

Since then several pieces have been added to their repertoire which bring together the diverse combination of classical flute, guitar and cello with Middle-Eastern and ethnic percussion and electric bass. Their music is often inspired by world events and a search for human understanding. Their musical ideas are drawn from all world cultures and traditions.

Their new CD, "Passage," has just been released and is now available. Listen to samples below. All music was composed and arranged by David Crowe. Contact David for more information.

Without Borders Suite
1. Wedding Dance
2. Funeral Dance
3. Circle Dance

Southern Medley
Barbara Allen/Amazing Grace

Jonah's Lullaby

Three Masters
1. Fancy Butterfly
2. Ma Foren
3. The Peaceful Dragon

The Echo
1. Theme
2. Canon
3. Butt Dance
4. Pas de deux
5. Finale

Without Borders
Shirley Gilpin, flute
Robert Teixeira, guitar
Tanja Bechtler, cello
Michael Lassiter, bass
Daveed Korup, djembe, dumbek
David Crowe, percussion, composer/arranger